The Institute of Agricultural Research and Training (I.A.R.&T), Obafemi Awolowo University, located in Ibadan, the capital city of Oyo State, Nigeria, is a national multi-commodity Institute for research, services and training for agricultural development of Nigeria. The Research Division of the Western Region of Nigeria Ministry of Agriculture was established at Moor Plantation by the Colonial Administration in 1920 to conduct research and train lower and middle level manpower in Agriculture.  The pioneer School of Agriculture in Nigeria was established in Bora, Moor Plantation in 1921 while that of Akure was established in 1957.  The School of Animal Health and Husbandry, Ibadan was added in 1964.  The three Schools and the Research Division of the defunct Western State Ministry of Agriculture and National Resources transformed into the Institute of Agricultural Research and Training (IAR&T) Ibadan in 1969 following a Charter signed by the then Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ife (now Obafemi Awolowo University), Prof. Hezekiah Oluwasanmi (now late) and the then Military Governor of the former Western State of Nigeria, Brigadier Adeyinka Adebayo (also now late).  Institute of Agricultural Research and Training serves the needs of the Nigerian farmers in general and farmers in South-Western Nigeria in particular within the context of its integrated agricultural resources development and training strategy.

The Institute has six Substations along agro-ecological zones as follows:

  • Ilora, Oyo State                                  –           Derived Savanna
  • Ikenne, Ogun State                             –           High Rain Forest
  • Ballah, Kwara State                            –           Southern Guinea Savanna
  • Orin-Ekiti, Ekiti State                         –           Forest
  • Kisi, Oyo State                                   –           Southern Guinea Savanna
  • Ile-Ife, Osun State                              –           Forest

In addition, there are Experimental Sites at Amakama – Umuahia and Umudike (Abia State), Mokwa (Niger State) and Eruwa (Oyo State) as well as Adopted villages at Moloko-Asipa (Ogun State) and Oniyo – Ogbomoso (Oyo State) for proven technology dissemination.

Prof. V. A. Obatolu (Director)